Digital Narrative Game Final Reflection

Working on this game was very interesting. This is my first time ever to design a digital narrative game, and I believe that it was a great experience. Since the first day. I knew what I wanted this game to be about, and as you know, the game is about making big life decisions. I am not the best at making good decisions or choices, I am the type of person who barely thinks of the consequences and I am very reckless in taking decisions. Five years ago, I was put in a situation where I had to choose between traveling to Canada, Egypt or stay in Abu Dhabi where I was born and raised, and this was one of the toughest decisions that I had to ever make in my life. After researching about this topic, I now know what are the steps I should consider while making a big decision, and I want everyone to think carefully before making any decision, because the consequences may be tough.

When I first started designing this game, I didn’t really include the steps that I learnt about and researched about, also, the scenarios were not linked together and this was a major issue because it would confuse the player. I had to work more on the scenarios and design them carefully. Also, a major part of my game was the consequences, I had to explain carefully to the player what is the consequence of their specific choice, and how would it affect them later. I believe that if I had more time, I would have definitely worked more on my research, also I would have worked more on the scenarios and their options and consequences. In addition, I would have added visual, that were designed by me, to then scenarios to make it more interactive and interesting.

This game was a great opportunity for me, I learnt a lot from the beginning of the process till the end. Starting from the research as I learnt a lot about how to make a right decision and I knew that I had to change things in my personality to be able to think better and calmly while making a decision. Finally, and most importantly, I learnt the basics of designing a game and I am very grateful for this opportunity and I would definitely design more and more games in my free time.  

Leave a comment